Azerbaijani, Russian and Armenian presidents’ trilateral meeting scheduled

Armenian-Azerbaijani conflict Materials 18 January 2012 11:13 (UTC +04:00)
A trilateral meeting between Azerbaijan, Russia and Armenia’s presidents is scheduled for Jan.23 in Sochi, the Kremlin website reported on Wednesday.
Azerbaijani, Russian and Armenian presidents’ trilateral meeting scheduled

Azerbaijan, Baku, Jan.18 / Trend, S.Agayeva /

A trilateral meeting between Azerbaijani, Russian and Armenian presidents - Ilham Aliyev, Dmitry Medvedev and Serzh Sargsyan is scheduled for Jan.23 in Sochi, Russian president's official website reported on Wednesday.

The current meeting will be tenth in succession, organized on Russian president's initiative since 2008.

Last meeting of Azerbaijan, Armenia and Russia's presidents - Ilham Aliyev, Medvedev and Serzh Sargsyan was held in Kazan on June 24, 2011.

Kazan meeting of the presidents of Azerbaijan, Russia and Armenia on the Nagorno-Karabakh ended without agreement on basic principles. The sides noted the progress toward the goal in the joint statement.

The conflict between the two South Caucasus countries began in 1988 when Armenia made territorial claims against Azerbaijan. Armenian armed forces have occupied 20 per cent of Azerbaijan since 1992, including the Nagorno- Karabakh region and seven surrounding districts.

Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a ceasefire agreement in 1994. The co-chairs of the OSCE Minsk Group - Russia, France, and the U.S. - are currently holding the peace negotiations.

Armenia has not yet implemented the U.N. Security Council's four resolutions on the liberation of the Nagorno-Karabakh and the surrounding regions.