EU-Azerbaijan Parliamentary Co-operation Committee Meeting Complete

Politics Materials 14 December 2006 17:00 (UTC +04:00)

The 7th meeting of the EU-Azerbaijan Parliamentary Co-operation Committee took place on December 13-14 in Strasburg. During the meeting, Azerbaijan was represented by the delegation headed by the Vice-Speaker of the Azerbaijani Parliament, Chairman of the Permanent Commission for Natural Resources, Energy and Ecology, Valeh Aleskerov. The delegation included the Deputy Foreign Minister Mahmud Mammadgluyev, Deputy Economic Development Minister, Sevinj Hasanova and the permanent representative of Azerbaijan in the European Union, Arif Mammadov, members of the Parliament, Rovshan Rzayev, Azer Amiraslanov, Guler Ahmadova, Jale Aliyeva, Chingiz Asadullayev, Rauf Aliyev, Ulvi Guliyev and Fuad Muradov. The European Union was represented by the delegation comprising of 17 people.

The meeting focused on the co-operation in the sphere of economy, agriculture, environmental protection, political situation in Azerbaijan, the steps taken in the sphere of human rights, freedom of speech and press, democratic development, and questions of Armenian-Azerbaijani Nagorno-Karabakh conflict.

During the meeting, Valeh Aleskerov, delivered a report on results of cooperating with the organization.

After the discussions, a declaration on co-operation was signed between Azerbaijan and European Union.