Certain Iranian citizens to travel to other countries without paying departure tax

Business Materials 21 January 2020 18:58 (UTC +04:00)

BAKU, Azerbaijan, Jan. 21

By Elnur Baghishov - Trend:

The Iranian parliament has defined the format of paying departure tax for Iranian citizens traveling to foreign countries and established the persons who won’t pay the tax, Trend reports referring to the Iranian parliament’s website.

The decision was made at a session of the Iranian parliament on Jan. 21.

According to the decision of the Iranian parliament, those who have diplomatic and service passports, land, sea and air transport crews, students studying abroad, as well as patients going abroad for treatment won’t pay the tax.

The decision reads that Iranian border residents, those attending religious ceremonies in Iraq, and those who work in other countries with the permission of the Iranian Ministry of Cooperatives, Labor and Social Welfare are exempt from tax.

As many as 176 Iranian MPs voted in favor of the decision, 10 voted against and 2 abstained.

Iran’s next year budget (from March 21, 2020, to March 21, 2021) envisages that Iranian citizens will pay 2.4 million rials (about $58) for their first trip abroad. The draft budget envisages that Iranian citizens will have to pay 50 percent more (3.9 million rials - about $94) for the second trip abroad, and 100 percent more (5.2 million rials - about $125) for third and more trips.