Iran's Parliament to study sanctions on US officials

Iran Materials 20 July 2011 15:37 (UTC +04:00)

Iran's parliament will discuss a single-urgency motion to impose sanctions on 26 US officials for their involvement in the killing of civilians and their violation of human rights, Press TV reported with reference to IRNA.

The motion has been put on the parliament's Sunday agenda for acts carried out by US officials, including human rights violation, construction of dreadful secret prisons, interference in domestic affairs of regional countries and the killing of civilians, spokesman for the Majlis National Security and Foreign Policy Committee Kazem Jalali said on Wednesday.

In May, Jalali said that the parliament's committee has drawn up a list of US officials which include commander of US forces in Iraq Raymond Odierno, USS Vincennes Captain Will Rogers III, former FBI chief Thomas J. Pickard, and the former commander of the US detention facility at Guantanamo Bay, Geoffrey D. Miller.

The Iranian lawmaker added that the current Guantanamo commander Rear Admiral Jeffery Harbeson, former Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld, and another US military official will also be sanctioned by Tehran.