The Caspian’s status discussions in Tehran

Politics Materials 27 February 2007 13:58 (UTC +04:00)

Azerbaijan, Baku /corr. Т A.Ismaylova/ The next meeting of the working group of the Caspian Sea littoral states ( Azerbaijan, Iran, Russia, Turkmenistan and Kazakhstan) began in Tehran to define the legal status of the Caspian Sea. Khalaf Khalafov, Deputy Minister of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, has represented Azerbaijan in the meeting.

The Deputy Ministers of the littoral states are expected to continue the Convention project on the Caspian Sea's legal status and to co-ordinate the joint declaration by the littoral states governments to be signed at the highest level in the summit. Experts from the five littoral states have discussed the document several times during their meetings.

Mr. Khalafov will also discuss Azerbaijan air space violation of the Iran President's helicopter on February 22.