England opt to field against South Africa

Other News Materials 31 August 2008 18:23 (UTC +04:00)

England captain Kevin Pietersen won the toss and decided to field in the fourth one-day international against South Africa at Lord's on Sunday, the AFP reported.

The match was reduced to 39 overs per side because of rain.

England, who have an unbeatable 3-0 lead in the series, named an unchanged side, as South Africa brought in Andre Nel for Makhaya Ntini and Vernon Philander for Albie Morkel.


Ian Bell, Matt Prior, Owais Shah, Kevin Pietersen (capt), Andrew Flintoff, Paul Collingwood, Samit Patel, Luke Wright, Stuart Broad, Steve Harmison, James Anderson

South Africa:

Herschelle Gibbs, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis (capt), AB de Villiers, J-P Duminy, V. Philander, Mark Boucher, Johan Botha, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn, Andre Nel

Umpires: Simon Taufel (AUS) and Mark Benson (ENG)

Fourth umpire: Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

TV Umpire: Ian Gould (ENG)

Match Referee: Roshan Mahanama (SRI)