Turkey fulfills major part of commitments to EU (exclusive)

Türkiye Materials 21 April 2016 16:51 (UTC +04:00)

Baku, Azerbaijan, Apr.21

By Rufiz Hafizoglu - Trend:

Turkey has fulfilled 55 out of 72 commitments to the European Union for achieving the visa-free regime, Turkish Ministry for EU Affairs told Trend Apr.21.

It is expected that the remaining commitments will be fulfilled soon, said the ministry.

After cancelling the visa regime, Turkish citizens will be able to stay without visa for three months in the following countries: Germany, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, the Netherlands, Italy, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Iceland, Lithuania, Latvia, Luxembourg, Liechtenstein, Hungary, Malta, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia and Greece.

Earlier, President of the European Commission Jean-Claude Juncker said that the EU may introduce a visa-free regime with Turkey in the autumn of 2016, if Ankara implements all the necessary requirements.

Turkish Prime Minister Ahmet Davutoglu has said that full membership in the EU continues to remain a priority for Turkey.

The Association Agreement between the EU and Turkey was signed in 1963. Ankara filed an application for the EU membership in 1987, but the negotiations on Ankara's accession to the EU started only in 2005.


Follow the author on Twitter: @rhafizoglu