May 8 to be Announced Day of Occupation of Azerbaijani Territories

Armenian-Azerbaijani conflict Materials 20 April 2007 19:06 (UTC +04:00)

Azerbaijan, Baku / Тrend corr S. Ilhamghizi / The Karabakh Liberation Organization (KLO) have applied to the Azerbaijani Parliament to announce 8 May (the day of occupation of Shusha city) the Day of Occupation of Azerbaijani Territories.

The KLO states in its appeal that Shusha has been under occupation for 15 years. The Armenians introduce Shusha as an Armenian city and mislead the international community regarding this 15-year period as the liberation of Shusha. "Despite the settlement of Armenians in Yerevan, Gumru, and Jalaloghlu regions and distortion of the history, we are still unable to shape the true idea in the world," KLO noted in appeal. "The spread of wrong ideas about Shusha is still in progress."

The KLO suggested to undertake serious measures on parliamentary level and to announce 8 May the day of Occupation of Azerbaijani territories in order to denounce the Armenians and stop their illegal activities. The occupied territories also include the lands occupied in 1905-1906, and 1918-1920 years during the Soviet period.

Armenia has occupied 20% of the Azerbaijani lands including Nagorno-Karabakh region and seven adjacent. From1992 to the present time, these territories have been under the occupation of the Armenian Forces. In 1994, Azerbaijan and Armenia signed a cease-fire agreement which put an end to the hostilities.